User Tools

Site Tools


bigace:manual:itempermission

Item permission

In Bigace each object (pages, images, documents) can have one permissions for each existing Usergroup.

A permission can have 4 different values for the states:

  • no access (0)
  • read (1)
  • write (3)
  • delete (7)

Each state includes the previous ones, so write includes read.

Note:

If a user is member of multiple usergroups, the highest permission is always choosen. For example User A is in group Editor and Admin. The group Editor has read permissions and Admin has write permissions. As group Admin has more permissions, User A gets Admin (write) permissions.

Default permissions

A new item gets by default the permissions from its parent. This can either be a page (when you choose a parent-page during upload) or the TOP-Level Item (which has the ID -1) of the Itemtype you add.

As of 2.7.5 there is an Admin GUI to change the default permissions. You can access this page ONLY if you have at least one uploaded image/file, otherwise the link will not be displayed. You find the link to it in the file and image administration panel in the upper right hand corner: default-permissions.jpg

Before 2.7.5 the following applied:
The default item permissions for Images and Files (see Itemtype) can currently not be changed through the administration. But you can change them using SQL directly.

Setting permissions via SQL

This method is deprecated and should not be used, as there is a new admin GUI to set the permissions (see above).

The table group_right stores the usergroup-permission mappings, where each usergroup has a link between Usergroup ID, the Itemtype and Item ID. So we have to update the entries with the Itemtype ID, the Item ID -1 and the usergroup you want to change permissions for.

For example:
Change default permissions for Images (ID 4) and the Group Admin (ID 40) to permit read, write and read in Community 1:

UPDATE group_right SET `value` = '7' WHERE itemtype = '4' AND cid = '1' AND itemid = '-1' AND group_id = '40';

The default permissions in a fresh installation can be resetted by executing (careful, updates all Communities):

UPDATE group_right SET `value` = '1' WHERE itemtype = '4' AND itemid = '-1' AND group_id = '0';
UPDATE group_right SET `value` = '3' WHERE itemtype = '4' AND itemid = '-1' AND group_id = '20';
UPDATE group_right SET `value` = '3' WHERE itemtype = '4' AND itemid = '-1' AND group_id = '35';
UPDATE group_right SET `value` = '7' WHERE itemtype = '4' AND itemid = '-1' AND group_id = '40';
 
UPDATE group_right SET `value` = '1' WHERE itemtype = '5' AND itemid = '-1' AND group_id = '0';
UPDATE group_right SET `value` = '3' WHERE itemtype = '5' AND itemid = '-1' AND group_id = '20';
UPDATE group_right SET `value` = '3' WHERE itemtype = '5' AND itemid = '-1' AND group_id = '35';
UPDATE group_right SET `value` = '7' WHERE itemtype = '5' AND itemid = '-1' AND group_id = '40';

Remember to add the database prefix to the table.

bigace/manual/itempermission.txt · Last modified: 2012/03/29 11:39 by kevin